In a damning refusal to award me the compensation for false arrest and imprisonment I rightly deserve, Sussex Police have proved beyond doubt their loyalties lie not with the law abiding citizens of Sussex, but rather with the criminals of Sussex; free to do as thou wilt.
In response to the events of 16th January 2015, at 318 South Coast Road in Peacehaven, in which both Joe Neilson and I were assaulted at our election campaign office; Sussex Police attended and arrested both Joe and I for assault and affray, leaving the criminals laughing in our face.
The events of that day are permanently etched onto my memory. I was in the office sending a text, when all of a sudden I heard Joe scream for help, “MATT, MATT, MATT.”
Upon leaping to his defence, I witnessed a thug punching Joe on his chest. Joe was collapsing to the floor and the only thing stopping these two thugs from entering the property was a box in the corridor which prevented the front door fully opening.
Shocked by the scene in front of me, my military police training kicked in and I adopted the Home Office approved technique of ‘GET BACK AND STAND BACK,’ and shouting at the top of my voice, “GET OUT, GET OUT, GET OUT,” I simultaneously pulled Joe out of harms way, while shoving the thugs out of the entrance with my right hand before slamming the front door shut and locking it.
You can read my full statement of the events written in the following 12 hours while locked up in a police cell.
Still in shock, (evident by the footage filmed immediately after the incident,) I had no idea who the assailants were or what they wanted. It was only at 00.07hrs of the next day, that during the interview it was explained that our assailants called Mark and Barry, had alleged I had attacked them with a claw hammer and that Joe Neilson had attacked them with a baton.
Bearing in mind we first arrived at Eastbourne’s detention centre at 14.09hrs on the 16th of January, and were interviewed the next day at 00.07 hrs, the promise of a “PROMPT & EFFECTIVE INVESTIGATION” was clearly an empty promise and vindictive of a criminal organisation pertaining to call themselves Sussex Police.
SUSSEX POLICE DEFEND THEIR POSITION.
Nearly seven months on, and having sent a letter to the Chief Constable Giles York demanding £14,000 compensation for false arrest and imprisonment, Sussex Police responded denying all liability and maintaining their actions on the day were lawful.
Martyn Milligan of the Civil Claims Unit writes:
“Shortly after mid-day on 16th January 2015, Sussex Police received two separate calls of a disturbance at Flat B, 318 South Coast Road, Peacehaven. One call was made by the occupant Mr. Neilson and the other by Mr Cooke who is the new owner of Flat A. The callers claimed that each had been the victim of an unprovoked assault by the other.
On arrival officers initially spoke to two men who were standing outside the property, these were identified as Mr Cooke and Mr Waters. Mr Cooke and his colleague allege that they had attended the property to begin work on Flat A, but had no means of entering the communal door. They requested assistance from Flat B and the communal door was answered by an elderly man (now known to be Mr Neilson). It wis reported that he became abusive once he was told the reason behind the visit and he swore at the men before taking hold of what was described as a ‘baton’ that was positioned behind the communal door. Mr Neilson is alleged to have taken hold of Mr Cooke and shouted for you to assist. Mr Cooke alleges that you appeared holding a club hammer and they removed themselves from the property before contacting Police.”
mark-waters
Mark Waters

Oh how the story changes.

During the recorded interview conducted at 00.07 on the 17th of January 2015 and attended by interviewer R/I Keane, investigating officer PC Norah Henry and duty solicitor Anthony Waller, it was expressed to me that the assailants were called Barry and Mark Waters and that Mark Waters claimed to have brought Flat A from Barry Cox and that the Barry, who accompanied Mark Waters was his builder.
In fact this position was maintained in all the subsequent court papers. Now all of a sudden, the facts change. Mark Waters is just the goon who works for Mr Cooke! Now it all comes out.
Considering both Joe and I had been refurbishing Flat A since November 2014 in preparation of turning it into our election campaign office, I’m not surprised Joe became abusive to two strangers knocking on his door claiming to have brought Flat A and demanding entry.
Joe Neilson has the documentation showing the previous owner Barry Cox, signed over the ownership of Flat A to him. While this documentation was an internal memo and not rubber stamped by a solicitor, the fact remains that Barry Cox signed over Flat A to Joe Neilson and that as far as Joe was concerned, Flat A was his to do as he wanted. Mark Waters and his expensive legal team acknowledged his fact but argued Barry Cox did so under duress and intimidation.
While Joe and I spent thousands of pounds defending our position in court simply stopping Flat A falling into the hands of the crooks, it was evident we didn’t have the finances to fight Mark Waters in a full blown civilian court case to decide the ownership of Flat A.
Barry Cooke & Mark Waters
Barry Cooke & Mark Waters

Now it transpires Mark Waters isn’t even the owner, Mr Cooke is. The same Mr Cooke who Mark Waters said was his builder. Someone is lying and it certainly isn’t me.

“Mr Cooke alleges that you appeared holding a club hammer.” Now if they lied to Police about who they were at the time of the incident, its probable they lied about me appearing with a club hammer (of which i certainly did not.)
BUT THE PLOT THICKENS EVEN FURTHER.
Since publishing various blogs of the events of that day and the subsequent events which followed on my blogspot www.shadowsussexpolicecrimecommissioner.blogspot.co.uk, a person who wishes to remain anonymous contacted me with the following information.
“This morning I came across your blogs concerning the assault on Mr Neilson of Peacehaven, I have had dealings with the assailants in question and I would like to pass on my knowledge of these people to you, I rented a property from one of these people on South Coast road fell a little behind on rent and I was threatened with “the boys” and my legs being broken, since then me and my partner moved from the property and I was told if you fall behind on payments I will come for you I know your address.”
Clearly referring to the goon Mark Waters, the truth becomes crystal clear.
Outside the Indian Restaurant on South Coast Road, opposite the Crown Carvery on Wednesday 8th April 2015 at about 4pm, Mark Waters approached me in his white van and winding his window down intimidated me by letting me know he knew my home address by pinning a posit note of it on the vehicle’s dashboard.

“Why have you got my home address?” I asked.
“Remember I used to live around the corner from you,” he replied.

Back to Mr Anonymous who continues:

“So we began renting the property 1st July 2013 through Mark Waters 239a South Coast road he said he was the landlord but the tenancy agreement stated the landlord was one Mr Paul Bennett of 5 Westdene Drive Brighton all rent and deposit paid was into Mr Bennett’s bank account not Mr Waters which I found strange. The conditions of the flat weren’t great, damp all around my daughters bedroom, missing roof tiles, cracked brickwork, my dad fell ill and I used my rent money to go see my dad before he died. After falling behind I was threatened by Mr Waters over the phone and in person he said he would send the boys round to break my legs, he would get me sacked from my job. I reported to the police but asked no further action because I feared/still fear for my families safety, after this incident myself, my partner and child moved back to Brighton. One month I couldn’t afford to pay my arrears he told me if I didn’t pay he would come through my door for me. He stated that someone called Paul Lucas from Brighton council gave him my address this was over the phone. I wished I had recorded the phone conversation, I recognise Barry the builder from your youtube video he changed the immersion on our boiler (only bit of maintenance done on the property) but I’m unsure if he is actually qualified because he never showed me his i.d, I was apprehensive to email as I fear he could still come for us but my partner said I should iI just hope this doesn’t get me a visit from his cronies.”

So here we have a second independent account of Mark Water’s modus operandi. Pretend he’s the owner, while in fact he’s the goon/thug who does the dirty work while hiding the identity of his boss. Whomever that may be.

Taking about his boss; I’m pretty sure I caught a glimpse of him on Friday 16th January 2015.

WHO’S LYING NOW?

Its all very well Sussex Police siding with Mark Waters & Mr Cooke’s side of the events, but the truth remains that Mark Waters has form. (My sister who is a regular street drinker in Brighton has identified him to be a drug dealer about the same time Katrina taylor was murdered in 1996.) We now know from Sussex Police and independently from Mr Anonymous that Mark Waters isn’t the boss but the goon/goofer/thug. Its pretty safe to assume that Mr Cooke isn’t even the boss too (as he claims to be). In all probability the boss was the one driving the silver Mercedes caught on camera speeding past 318 South Coast road on Friday 16th January.

Connected with Crime Lord Marcel Sulc aka Mark Slade’s criminal gang, Mark Waters is using the very same techniques which his mentor and boss Mark Slade used so successfully during the 1980’s and 1990’s.
Referring to a Guardian Newspaper article written by Martin Bright and Tony Thompson about Mark Slade (King of the Slums) in Sunday 25 August 2002, with the subheading; Landlord Marcel Sulc has got rich by throwing people out of their homes.
“I’M STILL IN HIDING.”

And it all comes back to Joe Neilson.

With the assistance of Sussex Police known criminals have fraudulently acquired a property through illegal means, while intimidating an elderly disabled man along the way.

Finally making contact with me, Joe writes:
Joe Neilson
Joe Neilson

“Hi Matt. I am still hiding out.I had to get out quick. My health hernia op they have put on hold until I have X-rays as I have lost a lot of weight. Adult Care has not contacted me. I was right they are involved in cover up. They must be working with Sussex Police.”

Joe Neilson is an OAP scared and in hiding; as is Mr Anonymous who still fears reprisals from Mark Waters and his cronies.
“I had no police help adult care no help I am being set up totally. Plus I need this OP. If at flat I would be died by now. Its was you being at flat the day of attack saved me.”
I’M INNOCENT.
I was once a Royal Military Policeman in Her Majesty’s Army. I took pride in the fact I didn’t have a criminal record and made sure I never got into trouble because all I wanted to be when I grew up was a policeman. So its all the more upsetting that still Sussex Police align themselves with criminals instead of law abiding citizens.
R/I Keane sent away the footage i filmed for further investigation because she believed I had filmed something which proved my innocence. While I never knew what that was at the time, I can only assume it was the footage of the silver Mercedes speeding past which grabbed their attention.
To be guilty of affray the points to prove are that a person has used or threatened: 
  • unlawful violence;
  • towards another;
  • and his conduct is such as would cause;
  • a person of reasonable firmness;
  • present at the scene;
  • to fear for his personal safety.
Right from the start I used a Home Office approved self defence technique which negates unlawful violence. (In fact I received an injury to my right hand palm in which all seven layers of skin were punctured by an unknown object). And jumping right to the last point that the person(s) at the receiving end of affray must “fear for his personal safety.”
Evident from he footage filmed immediately after the assault, its clear to everyone that Barry Cooke and Mark Waters weren’t at all scared for their own safety, while both Joe and I certainly were.
Martyn Milligan from the Civil Claims Unit writes in his conclusion why I shouldn’t receive any compensation:
“You suggest that you have been ‘exonerated of all wrongdoing’. In fact the reviewing officer has stated that ‘the criminal evidential burden of proof is not discharged in this case and that accordingly, there is not enough evidence to charge the defendants’. In other words, the matter remains as a recorded and undetected crime, but there is insufficient evidence to prosecute.”
WELL FUCK YOU SUSSEX POLICE.
And there we have it in a nut shell. Sussex Police think I attacked both Barry Cooke and Mark Waters with a club hammer and that Joe attacked them with a baton. In a nut shell, they have sided with criminals and turned their back on the law abiding citizen.
Of-course Martyn Milligan’s letter ends with the customary threat:
“If you should decide to issue proceedings in this case, they will be defended vigorously. Should proceedings be issued and subsequently fail, and application for costs will be made by the Chief Constable.”
So there we have it. I came to Joe Neilson’s rescue and I saw Mark Waters punching Joe to the chest with my own two eyes. I shoved Mark Waters out of the door with my right hand while shouting at the top of my voice, “GET OUT, GET OUT, GET OUT.”
Upon calling the police for emergency assistance I was arrested and thrown in a police cell for the next 12 hours.
My partner wasn’t informed because I was under the impression that Sussex Police would conduct a prompt and effective investigation. In fact my partner was never informed of my arrest and spent the next 12 hours thinking I had committed suicide.
Both Joe and I were dumped outside the custody suite in Eastbourne on a freezing morning at about 1am and told to make our own way home at our own expense.
The subsequent civil court action initiated by Mark Waters and which both Joe and I vigorously fought cost us thousands of pounds, which meant my election campaign fund was instead blown on barristers and solicitors rather than canvassing for votes.
The fact remains that Sussex Police still believe I attacked Barry Cooke and Mark Waters with a club hammer, and that my clean civilian criminal record is tainted by suspicion.
I know for a fact Chief Constable is a liar because Mr. Brian Setchfield once rang him to discuss his case of police corruption and wrong doing with reference to events at Hasting’s Bohemia Road Police Station on the 12 February 2009.
In the recorded telephone conversation liar Giles York denies all knowledge of the case and who Brian Setchfield is. This is a lie because I personally informed Giles York about the case both in person, email and via social media, including Twitter and Youtube.
So to end this blog I wish to make a personal statement to Sussex Police Chief Constable Giles York:
“You are a liar and a fraud and once I’m Sussex Police and Crime Commissioner, I will sack you. You have been warned.”
Leave a Reply

